Justitia

I’ve read an article titled “Sexism in Dance: Where are All the Female Choreographers?” on the Observer today. Author Luke Jennings shares keen observations, including on the “dynamics of vocational ballet schooling,” and real life stories that illustrate the gender asymmetry on the dance scene – very interesting Sunday reading.

One of the female choreographers being mentioned in the article is Jasmin Vardimon, and actually, the visual belongs to one of her productions, Justitia. I probably saw it in the first year of my PhD in the UK, but I forgot the name, although images from the show stayed with me. It was, I think, the most powerful dance production I’d ever seen, so powerful that you almost felt overstimulated, and certainly dumbfounded, at the end. I remember how the male lead beat his wife with her torso naked, and how thick drops of her sweat shot in the air as he flung her fragile body around. The political undertones of what was happening on the stage were also extremely thought-provoking, and although it was meant as a criticism to Western society (and I’m not from a Western society) I left the hall feeling guilty somehow. Well, that’s precisely the sentiment Vardimon wants you to question.

Here is a trailer from the performance with Jasmin Vardimon discussing the themes she explores in it:

I recommend it strongly to anyone who’s up for an eye-opening performance.

Bu yazı English içinde yayınlandı ve , olarak etiketlendi. Kalıcı bağlantıyı yer imlerinize ekleyin.

Bir Cevap Yazın

