What I Talk About When I Talk About Running

ImageI saw an ad for the Turkish translation of Murakami’s What I Talk About When I Talk About Running in the metro today. It got me thinking, because the title has been translated as “I couldn’t write if I didn’t run.” The idea that crossed my mind was “Is it because I don’t run that I can’t write?” or, more precisely, “Would a rhythmic physical activity contribute to my discipline in (academic) writing?” I probably won’t be able to find out until I start doing both of these at the same time. I was cajoled into joining a gym by my flatmates during the writing stage of the PhD and it did help. I’ve never been a sporty type, but treading the treadmill to the beat of the drum did reinforce some greater sense of rhythm in my life and I was pleased to notice that. I don’t like gyms in Istanbul – maybe I’m intimidated by the type of hierarchy that’s so opposed to the one in the environment where I feel in my element. But maybe I should take up brisk walking again – and definitely resume work on my bloody article!

Bu yazı English içinde yayınlandı ve , , olarak etiketlendi. Kalıcı bağlantıyı yer imlerinize ekleyin.

Bir Cevap Yazın

