1Q84

I read 76 pages of 1Q84 and decided to stop. It’s a shame, because I was feeling like reading a Murakami for some time, and I had high expectations of the book, but apparently I’m not in the mood for this kind of reading right now. I felt that the sex scenes came too early, and that the author was pushing it too far with the Fuka-Eri character, and then all those suggestions that the characters are having otherwordly illusions put me off – I didn’t find the transition into magic realism attractive; it sounded like bad sci-fi. This is the sentence which convinced me to put the book down: “It was her personal view that people who are overly choosy about the drinks they order in a bar tend to be sexually bland” (76).

I picked up If On a Winter’s Night a Traveller from the shelf instead. It has a beautiful exlibris, with two bees. The book title spells it “Traveller”, but inside it’s called a “traveler” – Vintage edition, translation by William Weaver. The text keeps addressing the reader in the second person. Let’s see how it goes.

Bu yazı English içinde yayınlandı ve , , , olarak etiketlendi. Kalıcı bağlantıyı yer imlerinize ekleyin.

Bir Cevap Yazın

