Us

I’m now reading Us. It makes me miss England; the dinner party in the cramped kitchen, bicycles in the hallway, Connie’s allotment in Stoke Newington, her vintage clothes… I think it might be time for another visit soon. It’s funny, also in a British sense, like:

20150104_022632

She was using it as a headrest.

“I was wary because parties, dinner parties in particular, had always seemed to be a pitiless form of gladiatorial combat, with laurel garlands bestowed to the most witty, successful and attractive, and the corpses of the defeated lying bleeding on the painted floorboards.” (12-13)

“On the rare occasions I tell a joke in public, I grimace like a frightened chimpanzee, but Connie was, is, deadpan.” (17)

“Jake the trapeze artist was a man who stared death in the face, while most nights I stared television in the face.” (18)

So, Douglas is an introvert – or shy? Or both? I recently read an article on the difference between the two (can’t decide which one I am), but thus far, I get the feeling that Connie wants to leave him because he’s not exciting enough. A bit inhibited, though tactful … and I don’t like that.

Bu yazı English içinde yayınlandı ve , olarak etiketlendi. Kalıcı bağlantıyı yer imlerinize ekleyin.

Bir Cevap Yazın

