Us II

Classes have been cancelled today due to heavy snow so I opened the curtains wide to watch the swirling flakes and snuggled up with my book. I love the characterization in this book, the dialogues, what’s going on Douglas’s mind; they all hang so well together. Take this:

“She was always an exceptional dancer, did I mention that? Self-contained, rather aloof. She had a particular face when she danced, intent and inward-looking. Lips parted, eyelids heavy. Frankly, there was something sensual about it. At a family wedding, I was once told by my sister that I danced like someone wrestling with a bout of diarrhoea, clenched and anxious, and so I had chosen not to light up any dance-floors since. Instead I leant against the wall and ran through a mental list of all the things I wished I’d said to Angelo [Connie’s ex]” (142-143).

Or this:

“On our return from an early supper in a Jordaan café, I filled up the Jacuzzi in the hope that Connie might join me. ‘Let’s fire this baby up!’ I said, and clambered in. But the sensation was rather like being thrown into the propellers of the Portsmouth to Cherbourg ferry, and the noise disturbed Connie, who had got into bed early to read.

‘Care to join me?’ I bellowed coquettishly.

‘No, you have fun,’ she said.

‘I’m setting it to turbo!’ The roar of jet engines. ‘IT’S VERY RELAXING!’

‘Douglas, turn it off! I’m trying to read,’ snapped Connie and returned to her book” (146-147).

Bu yazı English içinde yayınlandı ve , olarak etiketlendi. Kalıcı bağlantıyı yer imlerinize ekleyin.

Bir Cevap Yazın

